The Morgantown AES Federal Credit Union was chartered by the National Credit Union Administration on December 9, 1955. The “AES” denotes “Appalachian Experimental Station”, which was the name of the sponsoring agency at the time. The Credit Union is owned entirely by its own members and is operated by and for them exclusively.